Daily Draw: Mon 4-17-17

MotherofSwordsMy daily draw is the Mother of Swords. I’m using the Wild Unknown Tarot (https://www.thewildunknown.com). The suit swords have been following me my whole life. Oftentimes the 8, 9, and 10 of Swords. But recently, the mother has started following me around, too. I feel like she has something important to tell me, but I can’t figure out who or what she is. She seems a stern figure to me. Even-tempered, never somber or glad. She is collected–painfully controlled. She holds herself to herself and doesn’t let the walls between herself and others collapse. The sword symbolizes issues of spirit, and she supports herself on this. She controls herself but not necessarily the spiritual. She is detached. Her folded wings suggest stability; although she has the power to fly, she rests.

According to Kim Krans’s (maker of the Wild Unknown Tarot) guidebook, she is also sharp and perceptive, but may also be going through a difficult time. Royal cards usually refer directly to a person, and I feel like she is either a person that is a danger to me (in a mundane kind of way) or she is someone who needs my help, but I can’t seem to reach far enough into the card to connect with this person’s identity. I don’t know who she is. I know I need to know who she is. Maybe that hyper-awareness is key. Maybe I need to be less like the Daughter of Swords and more like the Mother, perceptive, calm, collected. Maybe that’s her message to me. Rachel Pollack’s Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom leans heavily on the hardJLT_QofSwordsship aspect of this character. Maybe then a storm is coming that is meant to met with grace? With the collected-ness seen in this shrewd character.

***

The art represented in the Justice League Tarot emphasizes the more sinister and cold nature of the Queen of Swords. This depicts the character Amanda Waller (the boss lady from Suicide Squad). She is a very dark character, and is certainly a villain. Her husband, one daughter, and one son were murdered in the Chicago housing projects, leaving her a widow. While she is certainly sinister, she is also a keen strategist and is skilled in navigating (and manipulating) the political sphere. These skills further paint her as the cold and collected female and distance her from her more sympathetic past. That means it is easy to forget this sympathetic past. I’m carrying her around today in the book Omeros. Her gun smokes with beautiful smoke, connecting her visually to the element air.


Image Credit to: Kim Krans for the Wild Unknown Tarot

Image Credit to: Sara Richard for the Justice League Tarot

Leave a Reply

