What is my Tarot Birth Card?

What is a Tarot Birth Card you ask? It’s a Major Arcana card corresponding to a number linked to the numerology of your birthday.

According to Beth’s (littleredtarot.com) Alternative Tarot Course, your birth card
“is calculated by simply adding together the digits in your date of birth. For example, my birthday is January 22 1982. I add the numbers together like this:
2 + 2 + 0 + 1 + 1 + 9 + 8 + 2 = 25
If you got a number over 9, add together the digits again (this is called ‘reducing’ in numerology.)
2 + 5 = 7
So my birth card is card no. 7 – The Chariot.” (Definitely check her out, she’s amazingly knowledgeable and her program is wonderful–it focuses on your understanding of the cards rather than memorizing a book), and for an even more in-depth explanation of the birth card, check out her post here.

WUT_HermitFollowing this method, I end up with the number Nine. The Hermit for me.
In the Hermit, I see solitude, but in that solitude is independence. Protected by his mountainous shell, the Hermit is safe, secure, and is independent in this security. He is tucked entirely into his shell, indicating introspection; he is turned inward. To me, the light represents knowledge and wisdom. It is an inner fire that must be stoked and tended with care. Hopefully I have some of this wisdom and can learn to share it with others.
Interestingly, The Hermit is associated with the zodiac sign, Virgo, which is my mother’s sign. This interests me because she and I so often butted heads in a messy, painful sort of way. It made both of us incredibly unhappy. My Gemini spirit just couldn’t jive with her earthy one, and for me to be connected to her card in a meaningful way forces me to reflect on our relationship. Maybe the fighting was less about how we are different and more about how we are similar. Or maybe I was too busy noticing the different to bother looking for the similar. My dad always told me how alike we were and I always called bullshit. But maybe I was wrong. This is what tarot is about, people. It is a tool to expand and understand your life. The answers are in you; tarot just helps you have the distance to see them.

Image Credit to Kim Krans for the Wild Unknown Tarot

Leave a comment