Daily Draw: Fri 4-21-17

IMG_20170421_012830Today, I pulled the III of Pentacles from my deck. The Pentacles is a suit that I don’t really connect with very much and struggle to read (that just means I need more practice with them). This card feels very structural to me. Institutional, almost. For whatever reason, I associate mountains with wisdom, so this seems like a card of institutional wisdom. School. I’m an American university student, so this idea of institutional education is very tangible in my life. Which makes sense when interpreting this card, because the pentacles are associated with the physical self or the body. These cards tend not to be too abstract.

What I find particularly interesting about Krans’ artwork here is that this image has both male and female distinctly represented. The mountain (upward triangle) can be viewed as a symbol for male and the inverted triangle connecting the pentacles can be a symbol for women. Is this card also a card of relationships? Krans’ interpretation of his card is entirely different than my own. For him this is a card about conquering the mountain. It means there are huge tasks ahead that will require determination and focus. I need to get down to the nitty-gritty work. He relates this issue to your job or career, but for me, I’m a full time student (although I also work part time on the side), so I guess I wasn’t that far off when I was thinking about University. I graduate in the coming fall and am currently taking that you-write-a-giant-paper-and-submit-it-to-your-department-and-they-decide-if-you-deserve-to-graduate class. That your-entire-fate-is-in-their-hands class. And it’s due in a week and a half. You could say my life is high-stress right about now.

In Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom, Pollack adds something interesting to this interpretation. While she agrees that the III of Pentacles can represent actual work, she also emphasizes that it can represent spiritual growth through physical work. That to achieve my next epiphany, I need to do the physical labor, and the mental growth will follow. I can only grow my spirt by putting the body to work. I dig it.


Image credit to Kim Krans for the Wild Unknown Tarot

Leave a Reply

