Reading Myself as a Reader

Today, I did a six-card spread designed to provide insight into my journey as a tarot card reader. I can in no way take credit for this spread, I found it through Beth at littleredtarot.com; she calls it the Reader’s Reading. Follow the link to read more about it.

My Spread

PicsArt_04-21-03.16.18

Card 1: What is my most important characteristic?

I drew the Star (not a card I feel super confident interpreting). To me, this seems like a card of hope. So my most important characteristic is my belief that things can get better and that I can become better. Krans also adds that this is a card of serenity; it isn’t just hope, it is a hope that brings you peace. With that in mind, I feel as though the Star is also a card of healing; hope is freeing.

Card 2: What are my strengths as a reader?

For this card, I pulled the Daughter of Wands. It feels odd to draw a court card here, particularly a court card I don’t readily identify with, but I’m going to try to read this card is representing myself in some way. I understand the Wands as an energetic, passionate suit. I am then a youthful, high-energy reader who is excited to learn as much as possible. She can also represent spiritual transformation, and that is definitely where I’m at in my life. I’m connecting more with my spiritual side and that will be my ally during this exploration.

Card 3: What limits do I feel as a reader?

The VI of cups. On the top half of this card, we see a standard tree, and on the bottom half, the rainbow of its root system. To me this is representing the spiritual and emotional underbelly of surface impressions. To read this as a limit, I see myself only connecting with the top half of the card. I’m stuck on the surface and am missing the intuitive connection which the roots imply. I definitely see this in myself as the fear of being wrong. With today’s daily draw, I wasn’t quite with the book interpretations of the card, which made me anxious or made me feel wrong. I am limited in that my gaze doesn’t go deep enough. This card is a case of I-didn’t-get-the-book-interpretation. Both Krans’ Guidebook and Pollack’s Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom talk about this card as a card of memory and childhood. So along those lines maybe I’m too young, too immature, or too focused on my past to really move forward? I don’t know. Screw it, I’m just going to go with my thing.

Card 4: What key lesson can I learn from my tarot journey?

Death. Death doesn’t just mean actual living things actually dying. It represents metaphorical death. Death of a worldview, of a project, of anything in the abstract sense. I think this is telling me that I need to learn to let things die. I need to learn to let go, because that is the only way I can really get my hope and healing on (thanks Star).

Card 5: How can I be open to growth on this journey?

The VIII of Wands. Movement. Energy. Spark. Change. I think this card is trying to tell me that I need to be fearless in the face of change, and I need to let myself and my life change. I may be a different person when all of this is over. I may be living a different life. And change like that scares the sh*t out of me. But I need to find a way to be okay with that. I need to be okay with getting my wheel spinning and letting go of stagnation.

Card 6: What is the possible outcome of this whole tarot journey thing?

VII of Swords. I’ve repeatedly said that swords follow me around. There hasn’t been much evidence of that in my daily draws, but believe me, when I do a Celtic cross? Swords, swords everywhere. And this spread wouldn’t be complete without a sword. The VII of Swords is a mischievous card. The fox is feigning sleep, but has one eye open. The phrase “cunning like a fox” comes to mind. While there are six swords mounted above him, he attempts to conceal the seventh sword beneath him. Usually this is a card of deceit and I don’t quite know what to make of that. It can mean secrets. Unnecessary or damaging secrets. Is this a warning for me to be open with people about my spiritual journey? I guess the only way to find out is to live it.


Image credit to Kim Krans for the Wild Unknown Tarot

Leave a Reply

